Port of Tyne appoints new chairman
Tue, 30th September 2014

Port of Tyne appoints new chairman

A new chairman has been appointed to the Port of Tyne following the death of former boss Sir Les Elton in July 2014.

Hilary Florek will start in the role with immediate effect, along with Dr Jon Hargreaves, who has been appointed deputy chairman of the deep-sea port.

As well as establishing her own PR consultancy, HFPR, Florek has "considerable experience" as a non-executive director for a number of organisations, including serving on the board of the Community Foundation for Tyne and Wear and Northumberland and the County Durham Foundation.

Florek said: "I am looking forward to leading the Port of Tyne through what promise to be exciting times ahead.

"The business is in very good shape and my colleagues on the board and I will endeavour to ensure we continue to develop a vibrant and sustainable port that remains a major contributor to the economy of the North East region and the UK."

Andrew Moffat, chief executive of Port of Tyne, said: "I am pleased to be welcoming Hilary and Jon as the new chairman and deputy chairman and delighted that this means the board retains expertise and continuity of knowledge at its helm.

"It ensures we are well-placed to continue to make progress on our plans for growth and to deliver our aim of ensuring that the Port continues to be a thriving, dynamic business supporting the economy of the North East region now and for the future."

category North East  |  source Insider Media